Finding Balance

Standard

I had a very busy, wonderful weekend, but I am still fatigued and faced with a variety of tasks on my chore list.  How do I prioritize my busy life? This is a recap of my weekend… Friday night I was tired after a busy week at school; my husband worked a double shift into the overnight.  My children wanted to spend time with their friends, which meant my daughter had a friend sleep over and I picked up my son about 9pm.  I didn’t sleep well as I always worry about my husband driving home after a sleepless night.  I got up at 630 when he arrived and enjoyed my coffee and reading time.  By 8 am I woke up my son because I had a narrow window of time to take advantage of the town’s free dump day. I borrowed a truck and was eager to clean my porch of my old couch and love seat that I was able to replace with my tax return.  I felt very stressed that it had to be done THAT MORNING or the furniture would sit on the porch indefinitely like the set of Sanford and Son. Once that task was completed, I rushed to the next event–again, a once-in-a-lifetime event–my sister-law’s baby shower.  I brought my daughter’s friend home and then we went to the shower. the venue was beautiful and I was able to connect with some family friends, but I had to cut the visit short since I had to rush to another ONE-TIME-ONLY event.  I dropped off my daughter along with a Subway lunch for each member of the family and drove an hour to an art class with Tim Holz that my husband had given me for Mother’s Day. It was a great class, and I learned a lot, won a prize, and enjoyed time to create, but I came home exhausted late at night and had to make supper and do laundry.  I was asleep when my husband got home from work. Sunday, the day of rest, was another busy day. I teach Sunday School and also had planned a surprise cake to celebrate my friend’s 80th birthday. I had to pick it up at 830 am. Again, in my mind I felt that this was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to celebrate my friend. After church, we enjoyed lunch at a restaurant with my parents who were visiting from out of state. My husband had to rush off to work, and my parents had a funeral to attend, followed by a concert.  That afternoon I went to the grocery store and did some laundry before it was time for youth group.  I chauffeured a car full of teenagers an hour away to participate in a trampoline event.  I participated and was still sore yesterday! After, I drove all the kids’ friends home.  Monday our full schedule resumed.  At the time, and even looking back, I feel all the events were important, but I’m so tired…My friends and family live similar, frantic lives.  Help me, Lord, to manage my days!

Leave a Reply

